You can learn about collaborating via our Community Platform or Groups feature here.
When you get started with RemNote, you'll have one private, synced knowledge base. With a Pro account, you can create more synced knowledge bases and share some of them with others, so that multiple people can view and edit notes together. Your collaborators don't need to have a Pro account; only the owner of the knowledge base does.
You might use shared knowledge bases to store information common to a team or group of friends, or divide the labor of creating flashcards for a class between multiple people.
Shared knowledge bases are currently a beta feature available to all users. Changes appear to other connected users within approximately two seconds; this will likely decrease in the future. There may be some rough edges and occasional bugs left.
To work together with a colleague, friend, or fellow student on a Knowledge Base, you'll need to choose a knowledge base to use, then invite them.
In RemNote's settings, you'll find your Knowledge Bases listed at the bottom of the left pane. If you need to create a new Knowledge Base for the project, click the + button and create a new Synced Knowledge Base. Then click on the Knowledge Base you want to collaborate on and Invite people in the Members section.
Here you can enter the email addresses of the people you wish to invite. When you have entered all their emails, click Send Invites, which will send an email to these people. Collaborators don't need to have a RemNote account to be invited; if they accept the invitation without one, they'll be prompted to create one so they can edit.
As the owner of the Knowledge Base, you will always be an Admin of that knowledge base. Only Admin users can take the following actions:
Delete the knowledge base
Rename the knowledge base
Add or remove users
If you wish, you can extend these privileges to others by changing their roles from Member to Admin. Both Members and Admins can add, edit, delete, and view anything within the knowledge base. Options for view-only access may be added in the future. In the meantime, consider sharing a document if you only want others to be able to look at it; others will also be able to quickly make a copy of the document in their own knowledge base.
To change a user's role, find their username/email in the Members section of the knowledge base's settings, click on the drop-down menu to the right, and select the appropriate role.
Removing a collaborator
Sometimes people will move on and leave projects, or you will decide that you no longer want to share your notes with someone. In that case, you can remove any collaborator by clicking the red trash can next to their role.